City Council

Waterloo operates under a non-partisan aldermanic form of government comprised of a Mayor, City Clerk, and Treasurer, all elected at large to four (4) year terms.

Waterloo is divided into four wards with two aldermen representing each ward. All terms of office are form four (4) years, with staggered terms – four aldermen elected every two years. icon-pdfWard Map

The Mayor and City Council members adopt all ordinances and resolutions, approve contracts required by the City, analyze proposals to meet community needs, initiate action for new programs and determine the ability of the City to provide financing for City operations. Additionally, the City Council perform other miscellaneous duties, including appointments to various boards and commissions, liaison with other governmental bodies, and respond with community groups and individual constituents.

Regular City Council meetings are held on the first and third Mondays of each month at 7:30 pm. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers of City Hall at 100 West Fourth Street. Usually, several special meetings are called throughout the year as workload dictates. All meetings are announced in advance and are open to the public.

Regularly Scheduled Meeting Dates for Calendar Year 2018.

[one-third first]

Tuesday, January 02, 2018
(City Offices closed for New Year’s Day)
Monday, January 15, 2018

Monday, February 05, 2018
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
(City Offices closed for President’s Day)

Monday, March 05, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018

Monday, April 02, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018

[end-column last]

Monday, May 07, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Monday, June 04, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018

Monday, July 02, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018

Monday, August 06, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018


Tuesday, September 04, 2018
(City Offices closed for Labor Day)
Monday, September 17, 2018

Monday, October 01, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018

Monday, November 05, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018

Monday, December 03, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018

[end-column last]

WEBSITE UNDER CONSTRUCTION:: We appreciate your patience as we are in the process of updating our website.
+ +