Skip to content

Community Strengths

The City of Waterloo encompasses a 7.66 square mile region that makes up the county seat of Monroe County, Illinois. Route 3 and Illinois Route 156 intersect within its bounds, and it is along the historic trail from Kaskaskia to St. Louis. The City has a Mayor/Council form of government.